The Purge, Moonrise Kingdom & The Double

Film Review: The Purge, Moonrise Kingdom & The Double

I’ve seen these 3 films recently, and I don’t want to ramble on about them and analyse them in detail (if you want rambling, read my previous film reviews…) but I feel like I should talk a bit about them.

The Purge:

images

I wanted to see this film when it came out in the cinema, but I never got the chance. I’m kind of relieved I didn’t waste almost a tenner on a cinema ticket, now that I have seen it. The idea for the plot was what really intrigued me. All crime is legal for one night a year – what a great concept (well, not in reality)! It was definitely a tense, gripping film, but it was disappointing. Out of all the possibilities for storylines, just from using that tag line, they didn’t choose the best one. Just by changing the story, the film could have improved a lot. I wasn’t too keen on the characters and the way the family interacted with each other seemed completely unnatural. I want to say that it was scary, but it didn’t really make that much of an impression on me. I want to say that the darkness throughout most of the film was effective, but it made me frustrated that I wasn’t really watching it – I was occasionally hearing people talking. So I don’t recommend this film. Someone please use the concept to write a book, and I will read it and praise it!

Moonrise Kingdom:

DownloadedFile

My friend recommended this film because I loved The Grand Budapest Hotel, and Wes Anderson directed them both. It made me excited right from the start because I could tell that it was going to be of the same style, and that’s what I was looking for. There was something really compelling about the film, the characters and the way the story was told. I felt engaged with the gorgeous protagonists (Sam and Suzy) and found their relationship adorable. Their characters were so interesting, and I found out afterwards that parts of Anderson’s personal life were reflected through these fictional people. I was a little baffled about the ending of the film, and it seemed a little pointless, but overall, I enjoyed the journey. For some reason, my brother did not seem to appreciate the film, and replayed the scene when Sam gets struck by lightning and thrown off the rocks about 10 times, laughing (this made me angry). I would recommend this film as a light-hearted and delightful form of entertainment for an evening.

The Double:

images-1

I have just come back from watching this at the cinema this evening, and I have mixed feelings about it. The film itself was very good, and so interesting to watch. The setting and tone were what I liked best about the film. It was all vintage-style set design, props and costumes, and the dim lighting and sepia tones added to the atmosphere. The script was fascinating – cleverly constructed – and comical at times. Plus, Jesse Eisenberg was perfect for the role(s) – I think he’s a brilliant actor. However, I had to do some research afterwards, just because I was so confused about the ending! Please can somebody help me out because I’m still clueless about what happened to both Simon James and James Simon; there are all these questions burning in my mind about which one committed suicide and who slit whose face… I’m sure I can’t be the only one completely dumbfounded!

Leave a Reply

