The Fault In Our Stars: Top Ten Songs & General Hype

There’s no doubt that The Fault In Our Stars (AKA: TFiOS) by John Green is taking the world by storm. Along with the millions of other readers enthralled by this heartwarming novel, I believe that the story of Hazel Grace and Augustus is one that needs to be told.

To summarise in a sentence… TFiOS is about two teenagers with cancer, but the story is NOT about cancer – it’s about two normal teenagers falling in love. For a more detailed description, read this page. I don’t want to give any spoilers, in case you haven’t read the book. And if you’re one of those people, you’re missing out, so get on it!

Although TFiOS is the only book of John Green’s that I have read as yet, I can’t deny that he is my favourite author. He is such a fantastic person! Out of all the authors of books that I have read, John has made the biggest impact on his readers’ lives through his interaction with the community known as Nerdfighteria (definition here). The aim of Nerdfighteria is to ‘fight for awesome’ and ‘decrease world suck’. Anyone can become a ‘Nerdfighter’, as long as they are willing to help fulfil this criteria, to make the world a better place. Last week, I came across a Facebook group for Nerdfighters (link here), which is absolutely amazing. It sounds sad, but I’ve finally found a place where I belong. Everyone is so welcoming and supportive, and we all have so much in common, despite the socio-cultural diversity.

The reason I am so in touch with this community is mainly because of John’s YouTube channel, which he shares with his brother, Hank. The pair are known as the VlogBrothers (link to their channel is here), and each of them posts a video addressed to the other, every week. I know little about Hank, other than the fact that he has a band called Hank Green and the Perfect Strangers. However, I do know that he and John have been very successful in various projects: they created VidCon, founded DFTBA Records and started up Project For Awesome (to name a few)! They are also content creators for many channels aside from vlogbrothers, including Mental Floss and my personal favourite, The Art Assignment (which I would strongly recommend to anybody with an interest in art and design).

Back to TFiOS… If you haven’t already heard, I’m telling you now that TFiOS is being released as a film adaptation in cinemas next month. I, for one, am extremely excited. In fact, I can barely contain my excitement. The other week, I saw a girl in my form reading a book – and I could instantly tell from seeing a sliver of the inside front cover behind a wad of pages that it was exactly the same blue as what I would call ‘TFiOS blue’. I freaked out.

Since The Hunger Games, I tried to suppress my excitement for book-to-film adaptations because the first film left me feeling very disappointed. For example, with Divergent, even though I followed every single part of the filming process (from the drawn-out search in casting Four to sneak previews of the Faction symbol designs), I had low expectations. So when the movie turned out to be a genuinely good representation of the book, it exceeded my expectations, and I was not disappointed at all. However, this film has already been screened exclusively for some lucky fans (so jealous!) and everyone so far has agreed (between sobbing into a handful of tissues) that “the film is the book”. What more could I hope for?

I have seen the trailer(s) and all of the preview clips, and I just know that this film will be a huge success. The lead characters look perfect and the tone seems to be completely as John had intended. When I first saw the trailer, I thought, “Wow, this is actually happening. How cool!” But then I saw the extended trailer… and I got so emotional that I was halfway between crying and squealing (gutturally, which sounded very queer). Oh, the feels! If I’m like this for the trailer, I can’t imagine myself in the cinema screen!

It’s a metaphor, see: You put the killing thing right between your teeth, but you don’t give it the power to do its killing.

If you also need to prepare yourself for the copious amount of feels in the cinema, check out this TFiOS survival pack, which is full of limited edition TFiOS goodies, including a much needed pack of tissues! Also on the website, you will find a treasure chest of the ultimate Nerdfighter merchandise, including products from DFTBA Records’ artists. Another useful link is for PageToPremiere, the best website ever. Here, you will find everything you need to know about all of the popular, upcoming book-to-film adaptations. The TFiOS section will bring you updates and exclusive material, so make sure you add it to your bookmarks!

In the mean time, allow me to introduce you to our wonderful movie cast…

There’s the beautiful, down-to-earth Shailene Woodley, AKA: Tris from Divergent (among other characters). There’s the gob-smackingly-gorgeous-and-totally-my-future-husband Ansel Elgort, AKA: Caleb from Divergent and Tommy Ross from Carrie).  Don’t be surprised if my next Top Ten Tuesday post is ‘Top Ten Reasons To Fall In Love With Ansel Elgort’. Oh, and there’s also Nat Wolff, who you may or may not remember from Nickelodeon’s The Naked Brothers Band.

Shailene Woodley Ansel Elgort Nat Wolff

And now it’s time for the original Top Ten Tuesday part of the post – 10 songs (in no particular order) that I think would make the perfect soundtrack for the story (I realised that I actually had quite a lot to say about TFiOS, hence all the extra bits and pieces above). My reasons for the choice of songs are pretty obvious, if you listen to the songs’ lyrics.

Amsterdam – Imagine Dragons

Hurricane – Panic! At The Disco

Just One Yesterday – Fall Out Boy

Oblivion – Bastille

Oh, Calamity! – All Time Low

Say You Like Me – We The Kings

Sun – Two Door Cinema Club

This Is It – Michael Jackson

Young Volcanoes – Fall Out Boy

Youth – Foxes

Here is a link to the real movie soundtrack. I think that ‘Boom Clap’ and ‘What You Wanted’ are really catchy and will be popular among the fans. Enjoy!

Before I sign off, I would like to leave you with the names of 4 inspirational cancer warriors:

  • Esther Earl (link to her book)
  • Josh Sundquist (link to his website)
  • Zach Sobiech – today marks exactly a year since his death (link to a video about his life)
  • Talia Castellano (link to a website in her honour)

And finally, here are some TFiOS related images that I want to share with you…

DownloadedFile-5 images-4 images images-2 images-3 DownloadedFile-4 images-1

Thank you for reading this super-long post! If you are new here, don’t forget to ‘follow’ my blog. And if you were brought here via the Nerdfighter Facebook group, please comment below to tell me! 🙂

DFTBA xxx

Leave a Reply

