Pitch Perfect 2

Pitch Perfect 2: Film Review

I enjoyed Pitch Perfect a lot more than I thought I would, as I assumed all the hype about the cup song was over-rated. I decided to see Pitch Perfect 2 as a fun way to unwind and start my holiday.

Overall, I thought the film was vibrant and energetic, with a lot of colour and good music. I loved all of the musical performances and the choreography was great. I liked that they included a wide range of music genres that matched the singers’ personalities and situations. The sing-off between the different acapella groups in the crazy fan’s basement was well timed and entertaining. I feel like the music producer cleverly put together the mash-ups so that the songs flowed from one to another in a fun and interesting way.

It was also great to be able to recognise other singing stars in the cast, such as Pentatonix (my favourite acapella group in the entire world) and Snoop Dogg (although I think his subplot was completely pointless). I was excited to see Flula, the German YouTuber, in the film as well, as he is absolutely hilarious in the videos he makes (and appears in –eg, I couldn’t stop laughing when he featured in Grace Helbig’s podcast, Not Too Deep). As I enjoyed the music aspect so much – and could have just watched the actors perform numbers for the duration of the film – I listened to the movie soundtrack as soon as I got home. I predict that the hype about the Pitch Perfect franchise will definitely make acapella more popular and appreciated in the music industry.

Whilst I admire Elizabeth Banks for directing her debut film and starring in it as well, I had some issues with the film, which I would like to highlight.

First of all, the script was terrible. I’m usually the one who notices visual effects and not so much the acting or script, so this script really stands out to me as being very poorly written. Pitch Perfect 2 is a musical comedy, and I can tell that they really tried to put an equal emphasis on both aspects. However, I felt that the music was strong, and the comedy was shockingly bad. Don’t get me wrong, there were some funny moments, but most of the time, I knew that the script was ‘supposed’ to be funny, but nobody in the audience laughed at all. There were lots of comments and jokes that were so unnecessary and didn’t add anything to the script. I felt like many of the lines were wasted and were used as fillers to pad out the film (in terms of extending its duration).

Something else I didn’t like was the fact that the characters were trying too hard to be awkward, possibly to seem relatable to the audience. I am a super awkward person when it comes to social interaction, and if I get nervous, my words come out in the wrong order and I say things that I instantly take back. Anyway, imagine situations like these, but magnified and acted out by every character in the film on multiple occasions. I don’t know why the writers decided that every character should be an awkward turtle because it made it so cringe-worthy and pointless.

In fact, I think that some of the characters could have been excluded from the film entirely, such as Lilly and Flo. Everything that Lilly said was completely random and irrelevant, much like Grandma Georgina from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and Flo’s vulgar/stereotypical ‘jokes’ about her background were not needed. I didn’t really like any of the characters, and I particularly disliked John and Gail, who made awfully racist remarks that were not even slightly funny.

Following on from the issue of racism… Obviously every story has to have a villain, and in this case, the enemy was the German acapella group, Das Sound Machine. They were portrayed as totally evil characters compared to the Bellas, but it wasn’t just their personalities that alluded to harsh stereotyping. They wore all black, all the time, and their choreography had a militaristic style – it couldn’t be any more Nazi-esque if they tried. Also, maybe I’m reading too much into this, but it seemed obvious to me that the choice of songs they performed further added to the evil aura. Firstly, they sang Uprising by Muse, which is based on the story of 1984 by George Orwell. Next, they sang My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark (Light ‘Em Up) by Fall Out Boy. If these songs don’t scream death, destruction, violence and manipulation, I don’t know what does…

4 thoughts on “Pitch Perfect 2

    • I felt the same, and I wouldn’t actively recommend it unless there is nothing else on at your cinema or you need something fun to brighten your day 🙂 I wish I could see Pentatonix in concert some day!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

